The newest tagline from our favorite show, HEROES, is “Can Sylar be stopped?”

Sylar is the big baddie on the show– a sociopath with the power to copy/steal other Heroe’s powers. Unfortunately, his means of copying/stealing powers involves slicing open their forehead and removing their brain– a process that is, as you might guess, fatal.

At this time, Sylar has “stolen” the following powers:
See/Decipher Complex Systems (this is actually his “Copy/Steal Power”)
Telekinesis – moving things with his mind (which he uses for the head-slicing)
Cyrokinesis – freezing things (including people)
Eidetic Memory – complete photographic memory, increased learning ability
Liquify – reduce any solid object to liquid (ugly, ugly power–though not that useful)
Super Hearing – pretty much what it sounds like, more useful than you might think
Precognition – the ability to draw/paint scenes from the future
? – and there are several more that we don’t know about

Now, when I was a kid, I used to make up super heroes and super villians. I also made up special cells to hold criminals with super powers. It was an amusing creative exercise. OK, I admit it. I still do it now. So, this question of “can Sylar be stopped” really gets to me.

I started thinking about all of his powers and how they might be overcome/counteracted.
His defensive powers are pretty limited– if you can suprise him. But that enhanced hearing is a problem. Whatever you do, it has to be silent for faster than sound.
My thoughts go on like this for quite a while. Whatever you do, you had better do it right the first time, no hesitation, no possibility of recovery. (Sylar has been captured twice now and both times ended poorly– because people want information from him and think they can keep him helpless. Bad, bad idea. My friend, Mengler, wouldn’t have made that mistake.)

To add to the fun– the previews of the future episode show a small girl who “has the power to stop Sylar”. Really? One power? Oh, my. Whatever could it be. My geek brain goes into overdrive trying to figure out what power that would be.

Blow him up from a distance? (She was small, cute little girl– pretty harsh idea.)
Stop him in place? (Hiro already has that power and it hasn’t worked for some reason.)
Block his powers? (The Hatian can do that– so that is unlikely…)
De-evolution? (That would be cool… cute girl looks at you and you get younger by the second…)

So, I’m thinking all of this out-loud. And C is listening, tolerating my geekiness.
And then she says,

“She could just make him a good person.”

… … … … … …
… … … …
… …

“Huh. I hadn’t thought of that.”

And I hadn’t. It would never have occurred to me.
I looked at C, and wondered at her elegant solution.

And then I realized

She was just playing the Buddy card.
(From Wiz-War, the best beer-and-pretzels game I’ve ever played.)

In the next version of Wiz-War, Buddy will be an Attack spell. This will upset C, but she’ll still play it on you.

